BC Liberal leadership candidates set for final debate Tuesday night


The nearly year-long race to find a new BC Liberal leader is in the final stretch, with a final debate scheduled for Tuesday night. The seven leadership candidates will debate starting at 7 p.m. and it will be broadcast here on the Global BC website and on BC1. The debate will feature current candidates and MPs Michael Lee, Renee Merrifield, Ellis Ross as well as the former minister Kevin Falcon. The group of candidates also includes Gavin Dew, Val Litwin and Stan Sipos. The party is trying to rebuild after a disastrous 2020 election result in which the party fell from 43 seats in the 2017 election to 28 seats. Election performance led to the resignation of Andrew Wilkinson. as leader and the party announced a leadership contest on February 26, 2021 that would last until February 5, 2022. There are approximately 43,000 members of the BC Liberal Party, but it is still unclear how many of these members will be eligible to vote. The party is currently reviewing appeals from a majority of leadership candidates to verify party memberships ahead of the Feb. 5 leadership. vote after questions were raised about some of the new members. membership to vote in this race has now passed. 1:42Kevin Falcon launches BC Liberal leadership bid Kevin Falcon launches BC Liberal leadership bid – May 17, 2021 © 2022 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.


Comments are closed.